Off Topic: Q&A What Would You Change About The World?

A little explanation is an order.  The Llama and I have been friends since high school, a long long time ago.  After high school I moved away to a different province, but still close enough to visit her and my other friends who hadn’t moved to different parts of the country.  When I would (I use the past tense because I don’t live that close anymore…) visit and a few of us were all gathered together in the same place, we would often break out her Book of Questions (that’s not its name, it’s just what I call it. I never bothered to learn its real name.  Llama knows.  Obviously…).  It’s a book full of questions that each person was to give an answer to and everyone would gain more insight into each other or just have a good laugh, or sometimes get something really personal off their chest.

The Llama decided she wanted to start posting something less angry and hateful than just the reviews since she’s working ahead of me and knows that the angry rants don’t go away any time soon, and she thought it might be interesting to go through the book and put her answers out there and asked if I would do it with her, since the book is meant to be answered by multiple people, not just one.  I agreed.  Though she’s a lot more open than I am so some of mine will be ‘no comment’.  I will try and find something related to the question to talk about for those ones.

Anyway, here’s the first question!  ‘What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?’ And boy is it a loaded one…

Hmmmm

What would I like to change about the world?  A lot of things.  What would I most like to change about the world?  I’m genuinely not sure.  If I was granted one wish and I could change any one thing about the world that I wanted, only one thing, I am really not sure what I would say.  I believe death is a necessity but I could make it not painful and scary.  I believe that people should be nicer to each other, but I know that competition makes a lot of people strive to better themselves and the world, and animosity comes from that same base emotion.  I would like to make people more tolerant of each other, but is that really the MOST IMPORTANT thing that needs to change?

Don't Know

It would be nice if I was rich but that seems a terribly selfish thing to change no matter what I would do with the money.  I would like people to be smarter, but with intelligence tends to come depression, and being a lifelong subscriber to that particular disease, I wouldn’t wish it on anyone.  Maybe I would stop global warming; but then no one would learn from it and just keep repeating the same mistakes.  Cure cancer?  They’re already getting closer to that every day on their own, so would it be wasteful to say cure cancer?

I honestly don’t know how to answer this question.  I guess in the end I would have to say that I would make life less painful.  Take away the physical strain from emotional stress and lessen the physical suffering of those with long term illnesses/disabilities.  That feels like a reasonable enough answer to me.

Check out Llama’s answer, and put your own in the comments!  We’d love to hear what everyone else would do!

Leave a Reply

